iPhone 3g os4 too slow to work – downgrading

As many other uses who have iPhone 3G and updated to OS4 noticed that their phone after some time is almost unusable or this. I have installed SBssetings which shows me free RAM and i noticed when RAM is lower 10MB phone doesn’t respond and can’t work properly.  (Some memory leak ? not sure)

So I have decided to downgrade to 3.1.3  and it is not as easy as you would thought.

I want my phone to be jailbreaken so you have 2 options:

1. find already customized firmware (search for customized restore firmware)

2. customize firmware yourself 🙂

Everything was ok, except that I got error 1600.

I have solved this issue by setting iPhone NOT in DFU mode but in RECOVERY mode.

There is another application for this issue “IREB” or this but it didn’t work for me (I think it works for 3.1.3 but not in os4).

3 Comments on “iPhone 3g os4 too slow to work – downgrading”

  1. Robson Nunes says:

    JUST DO A HARD RESET!!!!
    nothing else.

    to FIX the SLOW performance on iPhone 3G with iOS4, just do a Hard Reset: press and hold the lock button and the home button together till the iPhone shutdown. Wait some seconds (15 +-) and then turn it on again.

    do it twice.. or even more.
    I had to do it 3 times.

    It fixes a lot of things on iPhone and my iPhone 3G is running as fast as ever.

    =D

    • majecek says:

      this helps only till you run out of memory again. I have noticed that when my RAM has lowered under 10MB I was not able even to start application.
      Reset/Reboot/restart of iphone always helped, but I would need to do it several times a day.

      And Yes I have done “hard reset” – press and hold the lock button and the home button together.
      majecek

  2. […] The busiest day of the year was July 7th with 114 views. The most popular post that day was iPhone 3g os4 too slow to work – downgrading. […]


Leave a Reply

