Leopard – 403 Forbidden. You don’t have permission to access

If you try to start web sharing you might encouter problems.

By searching on the net there are several problems you have to check:

  • /private/etc/apache2/users/   – here should be conf file. more here
  • check the PERMISSION. This was my problem I din’t find any solution anywhere. Basically everything was ok, except that my home folder didn’t allowed others to enter in.
    • /Users/your_home_directory
    • cmd+I -> you get info
    • check at the bottom permissions
    • Me(Read & Write)
      Staff(Read & Write)
      Everyone(Read only)
    • My problem was that Everyone was set to (None)

This solves my problems

4 Comments on “Leopard – 403 Forbidden. You don’t have permission to access”

  1. Lord Simp says:

    finally, after reading a lot of the same (make the file,…) this was the problem. Thanks

  2. marco says:

    Thanks!!! My home folder’s privileges were set correctly, but I found out that my it was my Sites directory that had wrong permissions.
    Setting Everyone to ReadOnly solved my problem

    Thanks again!

  3. Kolja says:

    Thanks a lot! So it wasn’t a Apache misconfiguration after all.

  4. Mac Helper says:

    Note that someone else people should check is if the unix execute bit is set in the home directory. This didn’t work for me until I did a

    chmod a+rx /Users/username

    (note the ‘rx’ means read and execute). After doing this, everything worked fine.


Leave a Reply

